የኢትዮጵያ ፌዴራላዊ ዲሞክራሲያዊ ሪፐብሊክ

Ethiopia, officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (የኢትዮጵያ ፌዴራላዊ ዲሞክራሲያዊ ሪፐብሊክ) is a country in the northeastern part of Africa, known as the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Djibouti to the northeast, Somalia to the east, and Sudan to the northwest. With over 102 million inhabitants, Ethiopia is the most populous landlocked country in the world and the second-most populous nation on the African continent with a total area of 1,100,000 square kilometres (420,000 sq mi). Its capital and largest city is Addis Ababa, which lies a few miles west of the East African Rift that splits the country into the Nubian and Somali tectonic plates.

During the late 19th-century “Scramble for Africa”, Ethiopia and Liberia were two nations that preserved their sovereignty from long-term colonisation by a European colonial power and many newly-independent nations on the continent subsequently adopted its flag colours. The country was occupied by Italy in 1936 and became Italian Ethiopia (part of Italian East Africa) until it was liberated during World War II; during the Italian rule, urbanization has steadily increased. Ethiopia was also the first independent member from Africa of the 20th-century League of Nations and the United Nations. In 1974, the Ethiopian monarchy under Haile Selassie was overthrown by the Derg, a communist military government backed by the Soviet Union. In 1987, the Derg established the People’s Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, but it was overthrown in 1991 by the Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front, which has been the ruling political coalition since.

Prime Minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed Ali

The Ethiopian calendar, which is approximately seven years and three months behind the Gregorian calendar, co-exists alongside the Borana calendar. The country is the site of the Migration to Abyssinia and the oldest Muslim settlement in Africa at Negash, when Prophet Muhammed (peace be upon him) saw the persecution to which his followers were subjected to in Mecca, he told them to find safe haven in northern Ethiopia, Abyssinia, where they would “find a king there who does not wrong anyone.” It was the first hijra (migration) in Islamic history.

Ethiopia is a multilingual nation with around 80 ethnolinguistic groups, the four largest of which are the Oromo, Amhara, Somali and Tigrayans. Most people in the country speak Afroasiatic languages of the Cushitic or Semitic branches. Additionally, Omotic languages are spoken by ethnic minority groups inhabiting the southern regions. Nilo-Saharan languages are also spoken by the nation’s Nilotic ethnic minorities. Oromo is the most populous language by native speakers, while Amharic is the most populous by number of total speakers and serves as the working language in the federal government.

The nation is a land of natural contrasts, with its vast fertile west, its forests, and numerous rivers, and the world’s hottest settlement of Dallol in its north. The Ethiopian Highlands are the largest continuous mountain ranges in Africa, and the Sof Omar Caves contains the largest cave on the continent. Ethiopia also has the most UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Africa. Additionally, the sovereign state is a founding member of the UN, the Group of 24 (G-24), the Non-Aligned Movement, G-77 and the Organisation of African Unity. Its capital city Addis Ababa serves as the headquarters of the African Union, the Pan African Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, and many of the global NGOs focused on Africa. In the 1970s and 1980s, Ethiopia experienced civil conflicts and communist purges, which hindered its economy. The country has since recovered and now has the largest economy (by GDP) in East Africa, having the largest population in the region.

Addis Ababa (Finfinne)

is the capital city of Ethiopia & that of Oromia. Addis Ababa is referred to as "the political capital of Africa".
Population (2008): 3,384,569

Bonga Town

Located South-West of Ethiopia in Keffa Zone. Major markets on Saturdays and lesser ones on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Pupulation (2007): 20,858

Harar City

Walled city in Eastern Ethiopia, listed as a world heritage site. Harar is the capital of Harari Region.
Population (2012): 151,977

Jimma City

Largest City in South-West Ethiopia. Known as: "Jimma Special Zone".
Population (2012): 207,573

Harar, Ethiopia with Kevin Fairburn

Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

የኢትዮጵያ ፌዴራላዊ ዴሞክራሲያዊ ሪፐብሊክ

Capital and largest city:

Addis Ababa

Official languages:


Regional languages:

Afar, Amharic, Gurage, Harari, Oromo, Tigrinya, Sidamo, Somali, Wolaytta

Ethiopia is ranked 26th in the world in total area of land, and is the largest country in East Africa.

• Total in km2 : 1,104,300  /  (426,400 sq mi)

• Water (%) : 0.7

• 2018 estimate : 109,224,414

• 2007 census : 73,750,932

• Density : 92.7/km2  (240.1/sq mi)

• Currency : Birr (ETB)

• Time Zone : UTC + 3 (EAT)

• Driving Side : Right

• Calling Code : +251